b-school, Blogging, Henley, MBA, Personal, Thoughts

Being a sponge (or a hot-air-balloon)

These days I’m working a lot. But, even being tired, I’m still looking forward to having some free time to jump into my HRM and Operations books and texts and devouring them.

I’m enjoying the readings a great deal. The more I read, the more I want to read. I know that makes that “eureka moment” that my fellow student Andy described as when you can effectively focus on your assignments go further away and, at some point, pragmatism will have to be imposed, but not yet.
The operations book is really nice to read, the CD-Rom included is very interesting. I’ve also bought a copy of “HRM in a business context” by Price, referred many times through the text and, the more I read it, the more I’m interested in HRM. And there are the dozens, or even hundreds of articles that I’ve been given… some of them open new amazing doors… and I really feel like crossing all of them.

I do know that eventually I’ll have to focus on the assignment, but I’m trying not to think about that. The later the better. I already have the idea, and I think all the activities applied to it.

When I meet an interesting idea I reflect upon it, and I try to apply it to my experience.I beginning to think about situations that have happened under a different focus and devise different outcomes. Even the blog is suffering of lack of dedication because of my smoking knowledge. I see my colleagues and myself now acting under a different light. And that makes it even more interesting.

I visualise myself as a huge sea sponge that wants to grow more and more. A hot-air-balloon that swallows more and more hot air getting ready to ride. And I’m having a lot of fun.

infu.jpg

No beach this weekend, no gardening, just some gym, some herbal infusions (yes, that’s my kitchen), maybe a movie, maybe some friends around… but especially my sofa, my desk and my book companions 😉

Standard

4 thoughts on “Being a sponge (or a hot-air-balloon)

Leave a Reply

