b-school, Henley, MBA, Personal, Thoughts

Reflecting II (letting go)

I’ve been thinking too much lately. Constant mind ramblings, wanderings and meanderings. I just can’t get enough of it. Usually without leading anywhere.

But, where did I want to go? What was it that was keeping me that busy? Well, I guess I’ve put a lot of strain on myself the last months and, suddenly, I let go, took a much needed rest. And now this. It’s getting hard to keep up with a strong pace again. It feels hard to do so many things. Sometimes I even wonder if I really can.

However, you know, I’m an optimist by nature. I firmly believe that I can tackle with complex challenges, and, believe me, going back to work and study without loosing grip of your life is not a simple challenge.

One of the things I’ve thought about is Ackoff’s spectrum of learning, which I wrote about a couple of months ago. It was something like this:

data -> information -> knowledge -> understanding -> wisdom

Remember? The idea is quite simple. Don’t stop at gathering information but draw your own conclusions from data, make it yours, reflect about it as a way to develop a deeper understanding, try to connect everything, try to find the real meaning, try to doubt everything, try to insert the ideas in different systems and see how they work, try to view them from different mindsets, try to change them, to challenge them… at the end of this process you, somehow, get to wisdom.

Sounds exhausting. But it is not. Reflecting needs an acute and unstrained state of mind. And you can’t get it in midst of your always bubbling day-to-day.

The recipe is still the same. When you feel overwhelmed it’s time to take another step back, look around, let go those fears and insecurities that hold you back. But don’t ever loose your path.

Want to go always forward? then learn to walk like a turtle. Sometimes you’ll even need to retrace, but in the end, as long as you’re heading on the right direction, you’ll reach your goals.

Standard

Leave a Reply

