b-school, Henley, MBA, Personal, Thoughts

After a workshop (and back to work)

I’ve just had some days with nice people, trying to push back and see things from outside, feeling the need to learn, and actually learning, sharing thoughts with different others. And I’m already missing it. Going back to work feels heavier than ever.

There will be more workshops, of course. We’ll be continuously in touch (we already are), but it will be hard to get used to do both things at the same time: studying and working. Although I am convinced defender of executive programs, I understand the feeling that someone must have while having a sabbatical year just studying and reflecting and the good things that that must carry. Full time students: you’re lucky 🙂 make the most out of it.

But, make no mistake, I’m also going to make the most out of my MBA. And I’m going to do it with my fellow students no matter where they are. By the way I’m the only Spanish, so there’s not anyone I can’t talk to in the program that doesn’t have a different cultural perspective. That is a challenge.

ge.jpg

And this I have already learned: culture is very important. No matter what kind of culture: corporate culture, national culture or even individual one. We see things from our unique perspective, and at the same time we are constrained to the perspectives of the groups we belong to. When we work in groups, sometimes it’s very hard to agree on the same item. And due to the limited time we have, we feel pressured to go forward and to deliver whilst we have very different ways to go forward. That makes tensions that we must solve.  But, isn’t real life that way?

Standard

One thought on “After a workshop (and back to work)

  1. I do agree with you that we have all sorts of culture in this world. And when we’re working as a team…we have to compromise. For example, I used to have some teammates from Indonesia and India. People from 3 countries working together. At times, whatever they are doing or thinking…seem out of sort for me, but that’s the way they are.

    At the end of the day, we need to focus on the solution and try to work it out together – even if we’re from different background n culture.

Leave a Reply

